Skip navigation

I always told myself not to use puns within my posts. And yet here I am throwing one into my title? Madness, I say.

Anyway, there’s a reason the word “lore” is in this title. Kirith Kodachi runs a monthly event called “Blog Banter”, in which he poses a question to the blogging community, which we answer. It’s a great way to network and get a wider input on a much discussed (or not) topic.

This month’s question is:

How important is “fluff” in Eve online? Would eve online be the same if it were purely numbers and mechanics, or are the fictional elements important to the enjoyment of the game? Would a pure text, no reference to sci-fi or fancy names still be an engaging game? Should CCP put more or less emphasis on immersion?

I suppose it’s several questions in this instance, with one overarching theme; the lore. EVE’s lore is unfortunately not something I have read a lot into. I know the back story of the 4 races, who and what they are and why. But beyond that, I get a bit lost, it’s never really intrigued me enough to read much else. And doesn’t that in it’s own right say something about the lore? It’s never been interesting or “fluffy” enough to keep my attention. At least not in any major capacity, I have read the odd EVE chronicle as well, but not much beyond that.

With my lack of knowledge on the EVE lore, and moreover, my unwillingness to get much into it, one might say that I’m just not interested in lore, be it for this particular game/universe or any that may come to mind. I would say you’re wrong. Things like the Warhammer/40k universe, A Song of Ice and Fire, League of Legends have well written and well thought out lore, that I absolutely adore.

For example, I collected 40k models for a good 3/4 years. In that time, I think I read through my Imperial Guard codex 5 times, cover to cover just soaking up the lore, marveling at the artwork and the stories that came with it all. Reading about the 101st Regiment, where they came from, why they did what they did. Who they fought for, what they fought against. It was fun to read, never dull. But most of all, it made me care.

It’s much the same reason I had to stop reading several times while reading A Song of Ice and Fire, things happened to people I cared about, and it legitimately became too much to handle at some points. But once again, it was made possible by the fact that the books made me care.

And that is ultimately something the EVE lore has failed to do. I just don’t care. Sansha Kuvakei could traipse through the entirety of known space and I wouldn’t bat an eyelid. Oh wait, his minions HAVE been doing that, for quite some time now! Funny, I just saw more ISK floating about in space. The lore behind it didn’t interest me. I didn’t know why they were there. I didn’t care why they were there. In the end, it was inconsequential to me.

That’s not to say that there aren’t parts of the games story that don’t interest me. But anything that has interested me is 100% player created/driven content. Burn Jita, Hulkageddon, the Technitium Cartel, it’s all stuff that if I throw into google, I get a hundred different forum posts and bloggers throwing in their say. Because it’s memorable. People care. This is where EVE’s intrigue really lies. In the stories players share of their time in game. The battle for Fountain is one that will be remembered until EVE finds it’s place in that big server farm in the sky. Hell, BoB’s legacy still lives on, nearly half a decade after it’s downfall. Hearing of huge 500 vs 500 fleet fights, the theft of billions upon billions of ISK, that’s what got me into EVE. Not some psycho crashing a Nyx into a station. Not some guy with a bunch of pointy ships pointing at systems and saying “let them farm you for money in (constellation name here) this month”

In saying that, were there no lore for me to not care about, I dare say I definitely would not find the game as engaging. I might not care about it, but it is still there, and it has a purpose. It gives things in the game meaning, a reason for their existence. It makes things make sense. More or less.

So, to conclude my rather long winded answer to the question(s): The lore is important, but only in so far that it gives everything in EVE it’s place. It means that everything in EVE sort of “belongs”.  But the real stories, the real drama, it’s all player driven. The lore does one thing really well, which is lending it self to the “create your own story” mentality. It gives us the tools with which to build an epic tale, be that our own story or one that encompasses the lives of thousands.

Put simply, we ARE the lore.

One Trackback/Pingback

  1. By BB #48–Eve Lore | Morphisat's Blog on 17 Aug 2013 at 10:08 am

    […] Banter #48 – You Want the Lore? You Can’t Handle the Lore! Wherein Ships Explode. A Lot – Blog Banter 48: Stop! In the name of the Lore! Morphisat’s Blog – BB #48- Eve Lore Ugleb’s Journal – BB48 – Lore: the […]

Leave a Reply

